Here’s How The Map of India Has Evolved Since 1951 to 2019

new map of india

A historic day for India and the citizens. The slogan “From Kashmir to Kanyakumari, India is One” with One Flag, One Constitution, One Nation.

On Aug 5th, 2019 – The home minister Amit Shah moved a resolution in Rajya Sabha that all clauses of Article 370 will not be applicable to Jammu and Kashmir. Further, he also announced that Jammu and Kashmir would become a union territory with legislature and Ladakh a union territory without legislature.

This decision paves the way for full national integration, a climate of hope without fear, sustainable policies, investment, jobs, industry & institutions that will benefit the people of Jammu & Kashmir.

A new era has begun. In addition to this, the government has plans of hosting a major investment summit in Kashmir in upcoming months.

On the other hand, let us have a look at how the map of India has evolved since the consolidation of the princely states and the political integration of India in 1951 to the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh in 2019.


  • After territorial consolidation of the princely states and political integration of India.


  • Andhra cut out of the conditions of Madras state.


  • Incorporation of Pondicherry, Mahe, Yanam, Karaikal, and Chandernagar in the Indian Union.


  • The reorganization of Indian states.


  • Bombay was divided into Maharashtra and Gujurat.


  • Goa, Dadra, Nagar Haveli, and Daman & Diu was considered as part of India.


  • Nagaland was declared as an independent state.


  • Reorganization of Punbaj. Parts of the state were integrated with Himachal Pradesh. A new state was created – Haryana.


  • States Meghalaya, Mizoram, and Union Territory Arunachal Pradesh were carved out of Assam.


  • Sikkim becomes a part of the Indian Union.


  • New formation of states. Uttaranchal now called as Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, and Jharkhand.


  • Andhra Pradesh was divided, that lead to the formation of a new state Telangana.


  • Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir, and Ladakh as Union Territories.

If you don’t want to miss our next article then Like and Follow SAKKATH life on Facebook and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here